Exchange Ledger

Crypto exchanges compared on fees, limits and availability

Best of

Can You Use a Credit Card on Cash App? On-Ramps Compared

Flat vector illustration of a credit card, smartphone wallet and bank transfer icons around an abstract fee table, representing crypto on-ramp comparisons.
Cards, bank transfers and app wallets: three on-ramps, three very different fee structures.

Short answer: You can’t use a credit card to buy cryptocurrency on Cash App, and this single limitation is exactly why you should read the rest of this article before choosing how to fund your account. This article is for anyone comparing Cash App, Coinbase, Kraken, and Binance as a first step into the world of cryptocurrency, and who have a credit card or access to a bank account. If you already own cryptocurrency and simply want to transfer it from one wallet to another, you don’t need this article.

In short

Key facts

How I judged these on-ramps

I don't judge these platforms based on their "atmosphere." I judge them based on what can be verified:

  • Does the platform actually accept credit cards at all, or only debit cards/bank transfers disguised as “accepted cards”?
  • In which countries can you actually open and fund an account, rather than just browsing the homepage?
  • Minimum deposit — the amount that determines whether a small test transaction is even possible.
  • Fees for using a card or instant deposits compared to the standard trading commission, since exchanges often hide the true cost behind the guise of convenience.
  • Withdrawal limits, since generous deposit terms combined with strict withdrawal limits can be a trap of sorts.

Verification and KYC procedures are also very important, and I’ve discussed the general principles behind them in a separate article titled “How to Buy Cryptocurrency on Exchanges: Deposits, KYC, and Limits”](/best/how-to-buy-coins-on-exchanges-deposits-kyc-limits/). Here, I’ll focus specifically on the use of bank cards and cash.

Cash App, Coinbase, Kraken and Binance on cards and limits

Cash App

Cash App's crypto feature pulls from your Cash balance or linked bank, not from a credit card. That's consistent with how most card networks treat crypto purchases: they code them like cash advances, and issuers don't love that, so wallets that want to stay on good terms with card networks simply don't offer the credit option. Cash App is one of them.

Item Value
Supported countries United States; United Kingdom
Minimum deposit No minimum deposit required
Crypto networks for deposits Solana, Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum
Lightning withdrawal fee 0.9% processing fee for Lightning payments funded from your Cash balance

Note the deposit methods listed here are blockchain networks for receiving crypto you already own, not fiat funding sources — that distinction is where a lot of confusion about "what Cash App accepts" comes from.

Takeaway: Cash App is cash- and debit-funded only, and it's geographically narrow — fine if you're in United States; United Kingdom, irrelevant otherwise.

Coinbase

Coinbase is the platform here with the least public fine print to check against. The one figure I have confidence in is the withdrawal side: a daily cap of €100,000 per day. I don't have a sourced card fee or minimum deposit figure for Coinbase, which is itself worth noting — a platform this large publishing less granular fee detail than smaller competitors is a data point, not a compliment.

Item Value
Daily withdrawal limit €100,000 per day

Takeaway: Coinbase's withdrawal ceiling is generous on paper; everything else about its card/cash on-ramp needs checking at the point of deposit, not assumed from reputation.

Kraken

Kraken is the one platform in this comparison that names credit or debit card directly in its list of deposit methods, alongside bank rails.

Item Value
Deposit methods Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card
Minimum deposit 1 USD
Restricted countries Prohibited regions: Afghanistan; Belarus; Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Libya; North Korea; Russia; Sudan; South Sudan; Syria

The minimum deposit of 1 USD is low enough to test the on-ramp with a trivial amount before committing more. The restricted-country list is long enough that it's worth checking before you assume access, especially if you're in a region with sanctions exposure.

Takeaway: if a card deposit is the specific feature you're after, Kraken states it plainly, which is more than some competitors do.

Binance

Binance separates its instant/card buy fee from its standard spot trading fee, and the gap is the whole story. Instant or card purchases run up to up to around 2%, against a base spot maker fee of 0.1%. That's the convenience tax for buying with a card instead of trading on the order book after a bank transfer.

Item Value
Instant buy / card fee up to around 2%
Spot maker fee (base tier) 0.1%
Minimum deposit Minimum deposit amounts vary by currency and method
Restricted countries American Samoa, Canada, Cuba, Cyprus, Guam, Indonesia, India, Iran, Japan, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, Ukraine (Crimea Region incl. Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson as well as the Crimea Peninsula), United States Minor Outlying Islands, USA, Vietnam, Virgin Islands (U.S.), Malaysia, Netherlands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom.
Notable supported country Countries/Regions where the Binance App is supported: El Salvador

The minimum deposit answer — Minimum deposit amounts vary by currency and method — isn't a fixed number, it varies by currency and method, which in practice means you check it per deposit type rather than assuming one figure covers the platform.

Takeaway: Binance's card path is the most expensive route on this list by its own published fee range, and its country restrictions are the longest here, so availability needs checking before fees do.

Quick comparison

Platform Credit card accepted Minimum deposit Card/instant fee Withdrawal/country note
Cash App No (cash/debit/bank only) No minimum deposit required — Limited to United States; United Kingdom
Coinbase Not confirmed here Not disclosed here Not disclosed here Withdrawal cap €100,000 per day
Kraken Yes, per Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card 1 USD Not disclosed here Restricted: Prohibited regions: Afghanistan; Belarus; Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Libya; North Korea; Russia; Sudan; South Sudan; Syria
Binance Yes, via instant buy Minimum deposit amounts vary by currency and method Up to up to around 2% Restricted: American Samoa, Canada, Cuba, Cyprus, Guam, Indonesia, India, Iran, Japan, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, Ukraine (Crimea Region incl. Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson as well as the Crimea Peninsula), United States Minor Outlying Islands, USA, Vietnam, Virgin Islands (U.S.), Malaysia, Netherlands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom.; supported: Countries/Regions where the Binance App is supported: El Salvador

How to decide which on-ramp fits your card

Start with what you have in your hands right now and where you are, and work backward:

  1. If you only have a debit card or funds in a bank account and you’re in the U.S. (United States; United Kingdom), Cash App is the easiest option: according to No minimum deposit required, there’s no minimum deposit required, although you’ll still have to pay a fee when withdrawing funds via Lightning later on 0.9% processing fee for Lightning payments funded from your Cash balance.
  2. If a credit card deposit is a mandatory requirement, Kraken is the platform that explicitly states this at Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card, and the barrier to entry is low: 1 USD.
  3. If the fee is more important than the convenience of using a card, compare Binance’s two published fee schedules—up to around 2% for instant card purchases and 0.1% for standard spot trading—and avoid the more expensive option if you can wait for a bank transfer to go through.
  4. If you’re transferring large amounts and are concerned about withdrawal options, the only specific metric for comparison here is Coinbase’s daily withdrawal limit—€100,000 per day.
  5. First and foremost, check whether the platform is available in your country. The lists of restricted countries on Binance (American Samoa, Canada, Cuba, Cyprus, Guam, Indonesia, India, Iran, Japan, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, Ukraine (Crimea Region incl. Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson as well as the Crimea Peninsula), United States Minor Outlying Islands, USA, Vietnam, Virgin Islands (U.S.), Malaysia, Netherlands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom.) and Kraken (Prohibited regions: Afghanistan; Belarus; Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Libya; North Korea; Russia; Sudan; South Sudan; Syria) are quite long; the list of supported countries on Cash App (United States; United Kingdom), on the other hand, is short. The platform with the most favorable fees on paper doesn’t matter if it doesn’t operate in your region.

To learn how to complete the verification process after choosing a platform, read the article “How to Buy Cryptocurrency on Exchanges: Funding Your Account, KYC, Limits”. None of the fee comparisons listed above matter if your account never passes the KYC process.

Questions

Can you use a credit card on Cash App?

Not for buying cryptocurrency. Cash App purchases cryptocurrency using funds from your Cash balance, a linked bank account, or a debit card—but not a credit card. This aligns with how most card networks classify cryptocurrency purchases—more as a cash withdrawal than as a retail purchase— — so wallets seeking to avoid conflicts with card issuers completely exclude credit cards from the process of funding cryptocurrency purchases.

How do you get a PayPal card?

A PayPal-linked debit card is issued directly by PayPal after you link and verify a PayPal account, separate from any crypto exchange's onboarding. It isn't tied to an exchange's deposit limits or KYC process — it's a PayPal product first, and whether an exchange accepts it as a funding source is a separate question you check at the deposit screen, not at PayPal's end.

Does Kraken accept debit cards for deposits?

Yes. Kraken lists credit or debit card among its deposit methods alongside bank transfer, SEPA, Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer and crypto deposits, per Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card.

Which is cheaper, buying crypto with a card on Binance or trading after a transfer?

Trading after a transfer is cheaper on paper. Binance's instant/card buy fee runs up to up to around 2%, compared with a base spot maker fee of 0.1%. The gap is the cost of skipping the wait for a bank transfer to settle.

Is Cash App available outside the US and UK?

No. Per United States; United Kingdom, Cash App's supported countries are limited to the United States and the United Kingdom, so it isn't an option as an on-ramp anywhere else.

References

#SourceReliabilityChecked
1 cash.app — Crypto withdrawal fee Official source 2026-09-29
2 binancemakertakerfee.org — Spot maker fee (base tier) Aggregator — less reliable 2026-10-02
3 binance.com — Instant buy / card purchase fee Official source 2026-09-30
4 cash.app — Minimum deposit Official source 2026-09-18
5 help.coinbase.com — Daily withdrawal limit Official source 2026-09-18
6 support.kraken.com — Minimum deposit Official source 2026-09-18
7 binance.com — Minimum deposit Official source 2026-09-16
8 cash.app — Deposit methods Official source 2026-09-18
9 kraken.com — Deposit methods Official source 2026-09-18
10 cash.app — Supported countries Official source 2026-09-18
11 support.kraken.com — Restricted countries Official source 2026-09-18
12 binance.com — Restricted countries Official source 2026-09-16
13 binance.com — Supported countries Official source 2026-09-25