Kraken added a way for US customers to spend or buy beyond their cash balance, called Kraken Borrow, and the announcement itself is thin on numbers. If you hold a Kraken account in the US, or you're comparing exchanges before you deposit anywhere, this is worth five minutes.
In short
- Kraken published a blog post titled "Spend more than your cash balance: introducing Kraken Borrow for US customers," describing a new feature that lets US account holders spend or buy past their available cash balance.
- The announcement, as titled, does not itself disclose interest rates, credit limits, or eligibility thresholds — none of those figures appear in the source material used here.
- Kraken's standing deposit rules still apply to funding any account: the minimum deposit is 1 USD and accepted methods include Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card.
- Kraken does not serve a specific list of prohibited regions, so this feature is a non-issue for accounts in those countries by default.
- Anyone considering Kraken Borrow should read the in-app terms directly, since the trigger announcement alone doesn't spell out cost or risk terms.
Key facts
| Kraken | |
|---|---|
| Fees | — |
| Limits | Minimum deposit: 1 USD |
| Deposit methods | Deposit methods: Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card |
| Country availability | Restricted countries: Prohibited regions: Afghanistan; Belarus; Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Libya; North Korea; Russia; Sudan; South Sudan; Syria |
What changed
Kraken published a post titled "Spend more than your cash balance: introducing Kraken Borrow for US customers," announcing a feature called Kraken Borrow for its US customer base. Going by the title alone, the mechanic is straightforward in concept: a customer can spend or buy more than what sits in their cash balance on the platform.
That's the extent of what the trigger event confirms. It does not, in its title, specify an interest rate, a repayment window, a maximum borrow amount, or which assets serve as collateral. I'm not going to guess at those numbers, and neither should you until Kraken publishes them in a place that states them plainly.
What I can say with confidence: this is a US-specific rollout. Kraken didn't frame it as a global launch. If you're outside the US, don't assume the feature applies to your account yet.
Why this matters for exchange comparisons
Most centralized exchanges eventually add some form of credit, margin, or buy-now-settle-later mechanic once they have a large enough US base. Coinbase has run versions of this. Kraken adding its own means US users now have another lever to pull besides a straight cash-funded buy. Whether that lever costs more than it's worth depends entirely on the fine print Kraken hasn't put in the announcement's headline.
Takeaway: Kraken Borrow exists for US customers now; the terms that actually matter — rate, limit, collateral — aren't in the source announcement's title and need to be checked directly in-app.
Who is affected
This affects Kraken customers with verified US accounts. If your account is already funded and verified, you're the target audience for this feature, whether or not you plan to use it.
It does not affect users in Kraken's prohibited regions, since those accounts can't operate on the platform in the first place. Kraken's restricted list covers Prohibited regions: Afghanistan; Belarus; Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Libya; North Korea; Russia; Sudan; South Sudan; Syria. If you're in one of those places, this news is irrelevant to you by definition — you don't have a functioning Kraken account to apply it to.
It also, practically speaking, doesn't affect anyone who hasn't funded a Kraken account yet, since borrowing against a balance requires having a balance or at least an account structure Kraken recognizes for this purpose. New users still go through the same funding step first.
A quick reality check on account funding
Before any borrow feature matters, an account has to be open and funded. Kraken's baseline funding rules haven't changed alongside this announcement:
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Minimum deposit | 1 USD |
| Accepted deposit methods | Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card |
| Country restriction | Prohibited in Prohibited regions: Afghanistan; Belarus; Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Libya; North Korea; Russia; Sudan; South Sudan; Syria |
None of that is new because of Kraken Borrow. It's the same funding floor that's applied to Kraken accounts regardless of this feature. I'm including it here because readers comparing exchanges tend to ask "how much do I need to start" before they ask about advanced features, and the answer hasn't moved.
Takeaway: verified US account holders are the ones this applies to; users in Kraken's restricted countries or without a funded account aren't in scope yet.
For readers who track exchange compliance issues more broadly — geographic restrictions, sanctioned regions, regulatory attention — it's worth comparing how other platforms have handled similar territory questions, such as the ongoing scrutiny detailed in Manhattan US Attorney Probes Binance's Iran Compliance. Kraken's own restricted list overlaps with several of the same sanctioned jurisdictions.
What to do next
If you're a US Kraken user curious about this, here's the sequence I'd follow before touching the feature:
- Read the in-app disclosure, not just the blog headline. The announcement title tells you the feature exists; it doesn't tell you the cost of using it. Kraken's actual terms page or in-app modal is where rate and limit details will live.
- Check what counts as collateral. Borrowing against a balance usually means something backs the credit extended — cash, crypto holdings, or both. Confirm this before assuming your full portfolio is eligible.
- Look for a liquidation or margin-call clause. Any borrow-against-assets feature on an exchange typically has a mechanism for what happens if the value backing the borrowed amount drops. Don't skip this section.
- Compare against just funding the account normally. Kraken's standard deposit methods — Bank Transfer (ACH), SEPA (EUR, CAD), Fedwire, SWIFT, Etana Custody Wire Transfer, crypto deposits, phone digital wallet, credit or debit card — with a minimum of 1 USD remain the plain, no-borrowing route. For a lot of use cases, that's still simpler and cheaper than any credit feature, but you won't know without seeing Kraken's actual rate.
- If you're outside the US, don't expect this yet. Kraken flagged this as a US-customer feature specifically. International availability, if it comes, would presumably be a separate announcement.
A short table for context-setting
| Question | What we know | What we don't know |
|---|---|---|
| Does the feature exist for US users? | Yes, per Kraken's own announcement | — |
| Is there a cost to borrowing? | Not stated in the trigger announcement | Rate, fee structure |
| Is there a limit? | Not stated | Maximum borrow amount |
| Who's eligible? | US Kraken customers | Verification tier requirements, if any |
| Minimum to fund an account at all | 1 USD | N/A |
I'd treat any secondary source repeating rate or limit numbers for Kraken Borrow with skepticism until Kraken's own terms page confirms them, because the trigger announcement itself doesn't carry those figures.
Takeaway: verify the terms in-app before using Kraken Borrow, and don't assume international availability based on a US-specific rollout.
Where this fits among other exchange news
Exchanges rolling out new spend or credit mechanics tend to draw scrutiny alongside compliance stories. If you're the type of reader who tracks both product launches and enforcement actions side by side, recent pieces like US Probes Binance Over Iran-Linked Trades: What Changes are a useful parallel read — different exchange, different issue, same instinct to check the fine print before treating a headline as the whole story. Kraken's restricted-country list, covering Prohibited regions: Afghanistan; Belarus; Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Libya; North Korea; Russia; Sudan; South Sudan; Syria, is also worth keeping in mind if you're assessing which platforms are even usable from your jurisdiction before a feature like Borrow becomes relevant.
References
| # | Source | Reliability | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | support.kraken.com — Minimum deposit | Official source | 2026-09-18 |
| 2 | kraken.com — Deposit methods | Official source | 2026-09-18 |
| 3 | support.kraken.com — Restricted countries | Official source | 2026-09-18 |






